ViewAnderson County Schools

Anderson County Schools

Anderson County High School Career and Technical Education Students Participate in the CTE Student Leadership Day in Frankfort

Participating in the 22nd CTE Student Leadership Day in Frankfort on Tuesday, Feb. 13, 2024, were 8 members of the Anderson County FFA from Anderson County High School. Approximately 300 students and advisors from across Kentucky attended the day-long event. 

Career and Technical Education (CTE) Student Leadership Day is presented by the Kentucky Association for Career and Technical Education (KATCE) and is held during national Career and Technical Education Month. Governor Andy Besher signed a proclamation declaring February 2024 as Career and Technical and Entrepreneurial Education Month in Kentucky. The 2024 CTE Month theme is Celebrate Today: Own Tomorrow! Career and Technical Education Student Organization (CTSOs) help members obtain leadership skills and gain experience to help them pursue careers, college and lifelong learning. 

Career and Technical Education students attended a program featuring Ellie McGowan, Murray State University, who led a civics seminar on the citizens role in government. KACTE President-Elect Christi Hack, principal, Jessamine County Career and Technical Center, challenged the students to be leaders in their communities. Following the program, the Anderson County student leaders visited the State Capital and had an opportunity to meet with state representative James Tipton and senator Adrienne Southworth. They also went on a capitol tour and attended the 2024 National FFA Week Proclamation Signing with Governor Beshear. 

Sponsoring Career and Technical Education Student Leadership Day were the Kentucky Farm Bureau Federation and Kentucky Farm Bureau Insurance. 

Pictured from Left to Right: Kerrigan Searcy, EmmaLi Dorman, Ashley Thomas, Jenna Diaz, Rep James Tipton, Lincoln Cunningham, Savanna Mahl, Kea Conn, Abigail Lykins, Katelyn Pinkston

FFA members from across the state were in attendance for the 2024 National FFA Week proclamation signing with Governor Beshear. 

Members from left to right: EmmaLi Dorman, Jenna Diaz (back), Ashley Thomas, Lincoln Cunningham (back), Savanna Mahl, Kea Conn, Abigial Lykins, Kerrigan Searcy. 

Members from left to right: Lincoln Cunningham, Kerrigan Searcy, Kea Conn, Ashley Thomas, EmmaLi Dorman, Abigail Lykins, Savanna Mahl, Jenna Diaz

Print This Article
high school
middle school
phoenix academy
emma b ward elementary
robert turner elementary
saffell street elementary
early childhood cneter
community education
footer logo
Anderson County Schools    1160 Bypass North    Lawrenceburg, KY 40342    502-839-3406
© Copyright 2024. All Rights Reserved.
Equal Opportunity
The Anderson County School District does not discriminate on the basis of race, color, national origin, sex, disability or age in its programs or activities and provides equal access to designated youth groups. Inquiries may be directed to the Anderson County Title IX Coordinator, Travis Harley. He may be contacted at the district office, located at 1160 Bypass N. Lawrenceburg, KY 40342; by phone at 502-839-3406 or by email at [email protected]
View text-based website