ViewAnderson County Schools

Anderson County Schools

Anderson County school board saluted this month

(January 8, 2016) – Throughout this month of January, administrators, faculty, staff, students and community members of the Anderson County school district are publicly thanking the system’s elected board of education members during Kentucky’s observation of School Board Recognition Month.

Chairman Lee Hahn, Vice Chair Donna Drury, Roger McDowell, Scott Brown and James Sargent are among the 854 school board members being saluted in the state’s 173 local school districts. Their jobs are increasingly complex, said Allen Kennedy, president of the Kentucky School Boards Association and chairman of the Hancock County school board.

“Members of the Anderson County Board of Education are responsible for overseeing the school district budget and for implementing policies and making decisions that are aimed at ensuring that every child in their district is successful both as a student and as a future citizen of their community,” Kennedy said. “To do this, they must keep up with changes in education laws and regulations and spend hours on their own annual professional development and training.”

Anderson County Schools Superintendent Sheila Mitchell noted much of that work takes place outside the board office.

“Because the voting, discussions and actions school board members take happen during their public meetings, we tend to forget about their other ‘actions’ in support of the Anderson County school system and its students and their families. This includes talking to parents and others in the community, representing the district at community events, attending school activities and athletic contests, and oftentimes acting as students themselves in studying materials to prepare for their board meetings,” Superintendent Mitchell said.

“I’m thankful to be able to work with this group of elected leaders,” she added, “and I would like to ask the community to express their thanks to them as well this month.”

Print This Article
high school
middle school
phoenix academy
emma b ward elementary
robert turner elementary
saffell street elementary
early childhood cneter
community education
footer logo
Anderson County Schools    1160 Bypass North    Lawrenceburg, KY 40342    502-839-3406
© Copyright 2019. All Rights Reserved.
View text-based website