ViewAnderson County Schools

Anderson County Schools

News Release

The Anderson County Board of Education has joined with the Kentucky Education Action Team (KEAT), a coalition of Kentucky Education Organizations, in collaborating to build support for Gov. Steve Beshear and the General Assembly to increase school funding as they craft the 2014- 16 state budget.

Representatives of KEAT have pledged to work throughout the 2014 legislative session to educate Kentuckians on the effects of state funding cuts of the past five years, and to encourage them to urge leaders in Frankfort to put new revenues into the classroom through their “Our Kids Can’t Wait” campaign.

“We are preparing students to be our future leaders and they only have one chance to get a good education,” said Board Chairman Scott Brown. “They can’t wait. Once they have moved on it’s too late.”

Among the state-funded programs that have seen reductions (and no funding restoration) in recent years are:

·       Per pupil spending (state SEEK)

·       Teacher training

·       Technology

·       Textbooks

·       Preschool programs

·       Afterschool aid to struggling students

In support of the “Our Kids Can’t Wait” campaign, the Anderson County Board of Education passed a funding resolution stating the local effects of funding cuts and sent a letter to Governor Steve Beshear, challenging him and members of the Kentucky General Assembly to take action.

Anderson County citizens and community groups wishing to communicate their support for more school funding are encouraged to contact State Representative Kim King and Senator Julian Carroll as the budget writing work of the 2014 session develops.

The Kentucky Education Action Team (KEAT) is an action advocacy group whose mission is to develop united messages that will persuade the Kentucky General Assembly, parents and the public to provide and sustain sufficient resources that will advance and support learning for all P-12 public school students to reach their potential for career and college readiness.

Members of KEAT are the Kentucky Association of School Administrators, Kentucky Association of School Councils, Kentucky Association of School Superintendents, Kentucky PTA, Kentucky Education Association, Kentucky Retired Teachers Association, Kentucky School Boards Association, and the Prichard Committee.


Local Legislator Contact Information:

Senator Julian M. Carroll (D)

Phone Number: (502) 564-8100 Ext. 651

Email Address:

Representative Kim King (R)

Phone Number: (502) 564-8100 Ext. 763

Email Address:


Print This Article
high school
middle school
phoenix academy
emma b ward elementary
robert turner elementary
saffell street elementary
early childhood cneter
community education
footer logo
Anderson County Schools    1160 Bypass North    Lawrenceburg, KY 40342    502-839-3406
© Copyright 2019. All Rights Reserved.
View text-based website